Posted by: Sara Jean | July 17, 2010

Happy Anniversary!

One year ago today, I got married. In honor of that lovely day (which was as perfect and love-filled as a wedding should be), and in honor of my lovely husband, I’ve compiled some lovely words—some written, some sung, and some merely implied. Of course, no words can do my feelings on the matter justice, but in absence of anything else, I hope you enjoy.

******

******

Camerado, I give you my hand!
I give you my love more precious than money,
I give you myself before preaching or law;
Will you give me yourself? will you come travel with me?
Shall we stick by each other as long as we live?

–Walt Whitman

*****

The Master Speed

No speed of wind or water rushing by

But you have speed far greater. You can climb

Back up a stream of radiance to the sky,

And back through history up the stream of time.

And you were given this swiftness, not for haste

Nor chiefly that you may go where you will,

But in the rush of everything to waste,

That you may have the power of standing still–

Off any still or moving thing you say.

Two such as you with such a master speed

Cannot be parted nor be swept away

From one another once you are agreed

That life is only life forevermore

Together wing to wing and oar to oar.

–Robert Frost

*****

*****

Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

Categories

